About Us

Mission Statement

GAMA Global Canada‘s mission is to contribute to the development of more knowledgeable, competent, productive, skilled and recognized leaders in financial advice. We strive:

TO ADVOCATE for the value-added role of field leadership in the ethical advice of financial products and services.

TO SERVE the professional development needs of individuals and companies engaged in building the distribution of financial products and services.

TO ACT as a catalyst to connect leaders in the financial services industry.


The roots of GAMA Global Canada begin in 1974, when the Life Insurance Managers Association of Canada (LIMAC) was created. At that time, the costs of running the association were shared by a group of managers until sufficient revenue began to flow from membership fees and other sources. Throughout the past 30 years, membership in the association has evolved to include not just life insurance managers, but leaders within all segments of financial services.

Most recently known as The Managers Association of Financial Advisors of Canada (MAFAC), the association was renamed GAMA Global Canada in October 2002 to reflect a strategic alignment with GAMA Global in the United States.

In 2005, GAMA began a partnership with Advocis. In 2007, GAMA and Advocis finalized a reciprocal membership arrangement whereby GAMA membership is offered on an exclusive and complimentary basis to all Manger Members of Advocis.

GAMA Global Canada Board Chairs - Past & Present

2023 – Present Jason McMahon, CFP, CHS
2021 – 2023 Jonathan Schjott, CFP, CLU, CHS
2019 – 2021 Ted Girard, CFP, CHS, CLU
2017 – 2019 Peter Gillespie
2015 - 2017 Shawn Bellefeuille, CFP, CLU, CHS
2012 – 2015 Rob Popazzi, CLU, CHS
2008 – 2012 Greg D. Powell CD, BA (Psych), CFP, CHS, EPC
2007 – 2008 Joe Flynn, CFP, RHU
2005 – 2007 Juli Leith, CFP, CLU
2004 – 2005 Michael Gau
2003 – 2004 David A. Gray, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
2002 – 2003 Kevin V. Hunter
2001 – 2002 Rick Forchuk, MBA, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1999 – 2000 Louis Rivard, CLU
1999 Abe Toews, CFP, CLU, CHS, CH.F.C.
1998 Carla Mann O’Callaghan, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1997 A.G. (Grant) Norlin, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1996 A.D. (Art) Thompson, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1995 Jacques Thouin
1994 E.N. (Ted) Higgins, CLU
1993 R.J. (Bob) Cowan, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1992 B.D. (Bruce) Reardon
1991 R.N. (Roger) Fox, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1990 Jacques Martin, AVA
1989 W.A. (Ward) Hodsman, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1988 S.N. (Stan) Kaufman
1987 D.A. (Dave) Walker, CLU
1986 D.J. (Dave) Thibideau, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1984 – 1985 H.S. (Hugh) Alexander
1983 H.A. (Hugh) Arrison, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.
1982 J.P. (Pat) Latulippe, CLU
1980 – 1981 J.S. (Jim) Cameron, CLU
1979 B.A. (Ben) Hughes, CLU
1974 – 1978 J.J. (Joe) Driscoll, CLU